Minutes



To: All Members of the Council From: Legal, Democratic & Statutory Services

Chief Executive, Chief Officers Ask for: Elaine Shell

Ext: 25565

MINUTES of the Extraordinary Meeting of the County Council held at County Hall, Hertford, on Tuesday, 23 May 2017 for the purpose of appointing Honorary Aldermen.

MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE

D Andrews S Gordon A Plancev D A Ashley J M Graham S Quilty N Bell J S Hale I M Reay J Bennett Lovell D Hart R M Roberts P Bibby K M Hastrick A F Rowlands J Billing T C Heritage R Sangster S N Bloxham R H Smith D J Hewitt A P Brewster FRGHill A Stevenson S J Taylor S Brown C K Hogg T W Hone R A C Thake (Chairman) E H Buckmaster R G Tindall F Button T Howard A S B Walkington T R Hutchings L A Chesterman A D Williams C Clapper S K Jarvis R C Deering J R Jones J D Williams T L F Douris J S Kaye T J Williams

T L F Douris J S Kaye T J Williams

M A Eames-Petersen A K Khan C B Woodward

S J Featherstone G McAndrew C B Wyatt-Lowe
S B A F H Giles-Medhurst M B J Mills-Bishop W J Wyatt-Lowe
E M Gordon A J S Mitchell P M Zukowskyj

R I N Gordon R G Parker

Upon consideration of the agenda for the Extraordinary Meeting of the County Council held on 23 May 2017, as circulated, action was taken or decisions were reached as follows:-

CH	HAIRMAN'S
	INITIALS

.

1. MINUTES

1.1 Council agreed to defer consideration of the Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Council held at 10.00am on 23 May 2017 to the next meeting of the Council on 18 July 2017.

2. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN FOR HERTFORDSHIRE

2.1 Roger Hugh Beeching

The following motion proposed by **F Button** and duly seconded, was unanimously CARRIED:

"That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Roger Hugh Beeching be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Hertfordshire in recognition of the eminent services he has rendered to the people of Hertfordshire through the performance of his duties as a member of the County Council from 2009 to 2017 including his service from 2015 to 2017 as Vice-Chairman of the County Council."

2.2 Geoffrey Roy Churchard

The following motion proposed by **S B A F H Giles-Medhurst** and duly seconded, was unanimously CARRIED:

"That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Geoffrey Roy Churchard be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Hertfordshire in recognition of the eminent services he has rendered to the people of Hertfordshire through the performance of his duties as a member of the County Council from 1997 to 2017."

2.3 Aislinn Lee

The following motion proposed by **S B A F H Giles-Medhurst** and duly seconded, was unanimously CARRIED:

"That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Aislinn Lee be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Hertfordshire in recognition of the eminent services she has rendered to the people of Hertfordshire through the performance of her duties as a member of the County Council from 1993 to 2017."

CHAIRMAN'S	
INITIALS	

.

2.4 John Lloyd

The following motion proposed by **S J Taylor** and duly seconded, was unanimously CARRIED:

"That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 John Lloyd be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Hertfordshire in recognition of the eminent services he has rendered to the people of Hertfordshire through the performance of his duties as a member of the County Council from 1981 to 1989 and again from 2005 to 2017."

2.5 Peter Alan Ruffles

The following motion proposed by **R H Smith** and duly seconded, was unanimously CARRIED:

"That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Peter Alan Ruffles be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Hertfordshire in recognition of the eminent services he has rendered to the people of Hertfordshire through the performance of his duties as a member of the County Council from 2001 to 2017 including his service from 2013 – 2015 as Vice-Chairman of the County Council."

2.6 Alan Maurice Ronald Searing

The following motion proposed by **R I N Gordon** and duly seconded, was unanimously CARRIED:

"That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Alan Maurice Ronald Searing be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the County of Hertfordshire in recognition of the eminent services he has rendered to the people of Hertfordshire through the performance of his duties as a member of the County Council from 1997 to 2017."

The Chairman presented each of the Honorary Aldermen with an engraved pendant to mark their appointment.

KATHRYN PETTITT CHIEF LEGAL OFFICER		
	CHAIRMAN	
CHAIRMAN'S INITIALS		